[HOW TO] Batch Zipping or Compressing Multiple Folders into Multiple Zip/rar fIles

I’ve tried for awhile to look for a solution to my problem with compressing multiple folders into separate files… I tried Command line to no avail.

Since I couldn’t get the command line to work, instead I downloaded Winrar

Winrar has an option to zip Multiple folders into their own separate Zip Files.

e.g.
C:/Files/Fables 01/ into C:/Files/Fables 01.zip

C:/Files/Fables 02/ into C:/Files/Fables 02.zip

C:/Files/Fables 03/ into C:/Files/Fables 03.zip

and so on

With Winrar OPEN to the Folder that contains the folders you want to zip

  • Select all folders you want zipped/rared
  • Click “ADD” or “Alt+A” or “Commands>Add files to Archive
  • Select Rar or Zip
  • Go to “Files” Tab
  • Check “Put each file to separate archive” Under the Archives Box

When you’ve got any other settings you like fixed hit OK and boom Multiple Zips of Multiple Folders…worked sooooo much easier than command line 7zip

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “[HOW TO] Batch Zipping or Compressing Multiple Folders into Multiple Zip/rar fIles

  1. jx says:

    thanks a lot!
    just what i needed, works like a charm
    I like it when people take some time to write stuff like this down and share it :), thanks for the effort!

  2. JT says:

    Thank you. I had winrar but didn’t know it could do this.

    • jwsmithc4 says:

      I actually had converted to 7zip entirely but couldn’t get this to work, so had to install winrar just for that.

  3. AIl says:

    I almost went mad with the 7zip batch file system. Much better solution thanks!

  4. bale says:

    thanks, very useful πŸ˜€

  5. George says:

    thanks.this much easier

  6. sylvainr says:

    Great !…. I was looking for this solution from a while, thanks πŸ™‚

  7. Raymond says:

    This is why I stick with commercial software. Freewares in general almost always lack basic features found in their commercial counterparts and even if they do have those features, you have to jump through hoops to accomplish even basic tasks whereas the commercial counterparts allows you to accomplish the same task in a single step with ease.

    The old adage holds true: “You get what you pay for.”

  8. Some Guy says:

    Thank you very much… but I think I would have gotten the command line thing down in just a couple more months had I not stumbled upon your solution. πŸ™‚

  9. Mithrahn says:

    Thanks for this tip!
    I’ve used winrar almost exclusively for more than ten years, but I’ve never known about this, I’ve always wanted to batch compress multiple folders into separate files using winrar but never figured out how and had to do so individually, can’t believe I only found your “how-to” after 3 years of your posting it.

  10. hwahaha….that’s great! it’s so much easier than I think…thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

