Still Obsessed 27 years later

Today I’d like to talk about my obsession, you’re probably saying which one?

The Ultimate Obsession…

Learning.

I think a major part of my whole knowledge-seeking deal, stems from my Grandfather. When I was little my mother told me all the time that he could make this or do that. The whole Superman thing. I always thought he was this amazing crafter that could take anything apart and put it back together better. Apparently he took stuff apart but didn’t always get it back together.

My grandpa was the first one to get me into Video games, hooking up the wires of the Atari 2600 to a black and white TV.   That was my start in the world of gaming, also the reason I now know how to connect Audio/Video equipment.

My favorite game back then was a cowboy shooter game, Outlaw.

Atari's Outlaw

My favorite Old School shooter

The Awesome Gameplay of back then

The Awesome Gameplay of back then.

I used to play this game all the time, I loved the one setting where you could shoot through the cactus. Screw Pong and Pac-Man, I wanted Violence and competition.

He also started me on the path of Hacking and the always fun, taking stuff apart. Ever since I was in 1st or 2nd grade I’ve been taking things apart to see how they work. Even now my room is littered with parts, cables, hard drive platters and the like. Not to mention the screwdrivers and hex drivers.

My father’s the one that really got me going after my early video game years. I think in 1995 we got our first computer, a Gateway 2000.

The Beast

The Beast

This baby had a 233Mhz Intel Pentium II Processor with MMX Technology, 64MB of EDO RAM and a massive 1.5 GB hard drive, the G6-266 XL is power without compromise. The video quality of the system’s Virge GX 4MB video card is stunning on the Vivitron(R) 1100, 21″ (19.5″ viewable image) monitor.

I think they paid like $3000 for this computer and a 2.1 speaker setup, along with insane amounts of educational software.

But the best thing my dad told me, the Peter Parker “with great Responsibility” saying for me…

“There’s Nothing you can do to this that we can’t fix.”

That saying took away any worries of breaking this expensive piece of hardware, I looked in system files, I opened anything and everything to see if I could edit it to cheat or just change the color or something else. That is the entire reason I’m not afraid to screw around with the settings that alot of people do. I do understand that my ability to understand situations makes me a better candidate for the whole IT or Computer area. But still, You can’t be afraid to break the software, you just have to learn how to reformat your computer if you do end up with a big problem.

Learn to research, Learn to type in those little error codes, Learn to Ask Questions. or just Question in General.

I can’t tell you how many computers people throw away because “it’s slow” or “it’s old”. The computer I’m on right now is a good 6 years old and still running strong.

And I can’t stress this enough, Be Cautious of the software or files you download. It is not necessary to Buy Virus or Malware protection. Pretty much anything and everything you need for a computer can be downloaded for free. That  includes Operating System, Office applications, Browsers, Security, Image processing and so on. The only thing that costs money is the hardware, bandwidth and time.

Also if you happen to have one of those Computer Geek friends that you always bug for help only when you need help, Don’t do that. At least pretend like you care about these people before you decide to ask for something. I constantly end up with people that want to be my best friend when they need help, and the other 99% of the time…I’m the leper.

Be Nice to your Geek!

and just like Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. Computers hath no virus like a Geek annoyed.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

